College Hockey South playoffs coming to Huntsville in 2023

16722462 1346323392092130 4966830902982315990 o
College Hockey South includes college teams from Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Tennessee and Florida. (College Hockey South via Facebook)

Solidifying its status as one of the premier hockey towns in the Deep South, Huntsville will host this year’s playoff tournament for College Hockey South’s D2 league.

The Huntsville Sports Commission made the announcement this week. Here’s what to know:

Read more: College Hockey South playoffs coming to Huntsville in 2023

College Hockey South

276162919 5031114303613002 1757849871605628176 n
Alabama, Auburn and UAH all have teams competing in College Hockey South. (College Hockey South via Facebook)

The College Hockey South footprint comprises collegiate hockey teams in six (6) southeast states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

CHS also recently announced the inclusion of a Women’s Division of six collegiate teams beginning in the 2023-24 season.

The 2022-23 D2 teams of College Hockey South:

  • The University of Alabama
  • University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • Auburn University
  • Clemson University
  • Embry Riddle Aeronautical University
  • University of Florida
  • Florida Atlantic University
  • University of Georgia
  • Georgia Tech
  • Kennesaw State University
  • Lynn University
  • Middle Tennessee State University
  • Ole Miss
  • University of Miami
  • University of Central Florida
  • University of South Carolina
  • University of South Florida
  •  University of Tampa
  • University of Tennessee
  • Vanderbilt University

The CHS D2 Playoffs

14310319 1179377438786727 2223098162896699354 o
This tournament will majorly determine the conference’s top teams advancing to nationals. (CHS via Facebook)

The 4-day event will feature the conference’s top 10 teams and will take place at the Huntsville Ice Sports Center February 23-26.

Here’s how the playoffs work:

  • The top seed from the East, West, and South Divisions will hold the #1, #2, and #3 seeds in the playoffs based on who is ranked higher in the National rankings. The #4 seed in playoffs will receive the #2 seed from the South Division. Seeds #5-#10 can come from any D2 Division and will be seeded based on overall National rankings.
  • The CHS will announce the names of the participating teams advancing to the Huntsville playoffs on or before February 12th, 2023.
  • This tournament will majorly determine the conference’s top teams advancing to nationals. The national governing body of the CHS is the Collegiate Hockey Federation. The CHF Nationals are known as The Fed Cup and will take place in West Chester, PA, March 10-15.

Check out the Huntsville Sports Commission’s website for ticket information and playoff schedules when they are finalized.

Follow Hville Blast on FacebookTikTok and Instagram, and be sure to subscribe to our newsletter so you don’t miss announcements on what’s happening in and around Huntsville.

Michael Seale
Michael Seale
Articles: 1292